And so it begins again,第二次开始

Hello friends, family, and the greater internets! Welcome to this blog. I’m starting it on the occasion of going to Xi’an, China on the Fulbright Hays grant. The punny title may see some revisions, but for now I’m happy with it, and it will definitely change if I continue this thing past Xi’an.

It took me an age and a half and a lot of headaches to decide to do this program after college, but I’m very glad I did.  It looks to be a fun seven months of learning, working, and researching, I’ll make a whole post of the specific projects I’m doing when I get there and when things get hammered out a bit more clearly.  I’m still a bit fuzzy on some aspects myself.

Anywho, I’m about to board a flight to Beijing to rejoin my cohort, and the following day we’ll be going to Xi’an, unsure if by train or plane. I’m showing up a little late to the party in order to see my wonderful grandmother who had already bought tickets, and the program was surprisingly accommodating. I’ve seen a lot of Beijing anyway and I definitely needed some time at home.

Things I’m looking forward to: the street food, oh my god the street food. Although I will give myself a 2-3 week grace period to adjust before I start eating it. Other things: speaking Chinese again on the regular, the second half of the FACES conference in March, and getting to do some research on the LGBTQ community in China, as this might be one of my only chances. Other goals, I think I’m going to try to swim as much as possible, finish at least two Chinese books, and most importantly, have fun. That’s all for now, but I’ll see you all again when I get settled in and get everything set up. There might even be pictures! Stay tuned.

One thought on “And so it begins again,第二次开始

Leave a Reply

