Wow

It’s taken me a while to figure out what to say about Orlando, and still not sure if I have it. My heart goes out to the families of the victims, and still a little in shock as to how anyone could be so full of hate. Mostly though, I’m completely stumped as to why this keeps happening. The event happened when I was back in the states for a week for the first time in five months, and on returning to China I realized that for all its faults, that kind of thing would never happen here. And that says something to me. China is intolerant of the LGBTQ community in its own way, but progress is being made, and despite its problems you would never see what happened in Orlando, or in Santa Barbara or Colorado for that matter here. Others have railed on what makes America such a hotspot for mass shootings better than I, the Onion, countless comedians, and political analysts, so I’ll leave it here and add my voice to the chorus of tears and what the fucks.

On a happier note, I have to say I’m amazed.  Surprise birthday party Thursday night which consisted of KTV (karaoke) and presents including some nice notebooks, a book of poetry and some cool Chinese minority alcohol.  I was super touched and sang my tuckus off.

In other news, while I managed to not get sick with all the flying I was doing, I do seem to be coming down with something 😦  Probably has something to do with how long it’s taken me to get over my jet lag.  Past few days its been up at 2-4, nap 10-12 and then somehow make it through the rest of the day.

Not much else to say. Finished one of my projects for the semester, which I’ll share soon, and still hella tired which accounts for this post being as disjointed as it is.  Apologies and see you all later!

Leave a Reply

